Commands in the Settings section

Step 1 - Settings > Access Management >

Commands in the Settings section

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

The commands in this section are only available in the Pro edition of WebSite X5: they define how users are registered and set the parameters for the registration process.

First of all, you need to define the Registration Mode, choosing from:

Manual Registration: the website administrator creates the users and sends them their credentials for accessing locked pages. There may be a registration form on the website, but the actual registration is completed by the administrator working on the project in WebSite X5. This is the default option in the Evo edition.

Automatic Registration: users can register automatically, filling in the form on the website. The administrator can see the list of users who have registered online in the online Control Panel and can download this list to add the new users to the project and manage them through WebSite X5. The website administrator still has the possibility of manually creating new users.

If you choose Manual Registration you can enable the following Settings:

Registration Page: this option takes you to the website Map and you can specify which page is to be displayed when the user clicks on the Register link to enter his e-mail address and password for accessing locked pages.

This option is also available in the Evo edition: in this case, it appears under the Groups/Users table.

If you choose Automatic Registration, these Settings are available:

Admin e-mail address: enter a valid administrator e-mail address. This parameter is required since all password reset requests made by registered Users will be sent to this address. This address is also the one from which e-mails are sent to users asking them to validate their e-mail addresses (Enable E-mail Address Validation), and that receives new registration e-mails (Send an e-mail to notify new users subscription).
Send an e-mail to notify new users subscription: the website administrator will receive an e-mail each time a new user registers.
Enable 'Captcha' anti-spam filter: adds the Captcha anti-spam filter to the end of the registration form: a series of letters are displayed in a distorted manner and the user must copy them correctly in the field in order to submit his form and complete the registration.
Enable E-mail Address Validation: enables user e-mail address validation, to make sure the e-mail addresses are correct, especially if they are to be used for sending letters of a commercial nature (the double opt-in procedure for subscriptions to newsletters). In practice, when a user completes the registration procedure, an e-mail is sent to the address he has indicated in the registration form. The e-mail asks him to click on the link in the e-mail to confirm he has received the e-mail and, consequently, authenticate the e-mail address. If the user does not confirm the e-mail, his registration cannot be completed. The user name is added to the Automatic Registration group, but a yellow dot is shown next to his name, to indicate an incomplete registration.

Whichever Registration Mode you choose, you can then define the Login and Password Page Settings:

Welcome message: you can write the text of the warning message to be displayed when a user tries to open a locked page without having logged in. In this case, the visitor is re-directed to another page, created automatically by the Program, that includes the following:
Introduction: the welcome text, specified here.
Login form: registered users can log in with their e-mail and password. Moreover, if you are using the Automatic Registration, a link for recovering the password if the user has forgotten it will be reported.
Registration form: new users can fill in the form to register. If the e-mail address has to be confirmed, a message is displayed after the form has been filled in, asking the user to check his e-mail for new messages and confirm his e-mail address.

This option is also available in the Evo edition: in this case, it appears under the Groups/Users table.

 


Read the guides:

-

How to enable the automatic User registration

-

How to manage Users who register automatically